New England

A forum to discuss your inspirations and reflections while visiting Vermont in any season. What evokes your passion for the state of Vermont? Do you have an amusing story to tell or a memorable experience while traveling there? All are welcome to participate. You must be registered in order to post. If you have trouble registering, use the contact us form on Scenes of Vermont's home page.

Moderator: ctyanky

ctyanky
Board Admin

New England

Tue Sep 14, 2010 8:14 pm

Although not specifically related to Vermont, here is a poem I would like to share with you that I have been carrying around in my wallet for many years. It helps me remember my parents who are now deceased and who gave me the fondest memories of New England any child could ask for. I love living in New England as you can tell. We traveled around so much in the New England states that they all really feel like home to me (mostly VT of course). Some poems just touch my soul in a special way. This one is for you Mom and Dad. (And for all you Yankee New Englanders and those who love it here as well!) After this one, I have another poem I cherish by my FAVORITE poet Robert Frost. It is below this one.

If you have any special poems you love related to the autumn, VT or New England please share!

NEW ENGLAND
~Philip Henry Savage

Whoe’er thou art, who walkest there
Where God first taught my feet to roam,
Breathe but my name into the air,
I am content, for that is home.

A sense, a color comes to me,
Of baybushes that heavy lie
With juniper along the sea,
And the blue sea along the sky.

New England is my home; t’is there
I love the pagan sun and moon.
T’is there I love the growing year,
December and young-summer June.

I'd rather love one blade of grass
That grows on one New England hill,
Than drain the whole world in the glass
Of fortune, when the heart is still.