Critique#1A

Discussions on Equipment, Locations and Tips for getting the photographs you want of Vermont scenes.Note: You must be registered in order to post. If you have trouble registering, use the contact us form on Scenes of Vermont's home page.

Moderators: Andy, admin

Andy

Re: Critique

Sun Nov 13, 2011 11:47 am

Here is an image from our own CTYankY (image copyright 2011). I'll let her make any comments she may want to add, but she has asked me to post it for her to participate in the critique:

Andy

If it sounds too good to be true, its probably . . . .

ctyanky
Board Admin

Critique#1A

Sun Nov 13, 2011 12:03 pm

Hi everyone! Please be honest to the core. I am a true beginner. Andy and Al have been helpful to me in the past to hone my amateurish skills. If you are not brutally honest, I'll never advance. You can even laugh and say this chick needs a better camera. :wink: This was taken in the extreme NW corner of CT at the top of a mountain at the beginning of foliage season. The bright yellow tree caught my eye and the tree to the far right, the anchor, was in peak. The ridge in the back was just coming into peak. I just had to take a picture! Thanks for your comments. CT

Andy

Sun Nov 13, 2011 12:18 pm

CT: Here are my own remarks:

Compositionally, the balance of elements (the conversation that Bryan started), is very nice. The "lever" I was trying to remember is a concept know by artists is the "steelyard." It refers to the fact that sometimes in order to achieve balance between different sized elements, you have to vary the placement in the photo further away from the center ("balance" point). Imagine a vertical line directly in the middle of the image. Note the distance of the small, red tree from the center vs. the distance of the large, main subject tree. This creates that "steelyard" balance, in my view. The color contrasts help, too. We need that red tree to make it an anchoring element.