Development/Growth of a Photographer

Discussions on Equipment, Locations and Tips for getting the photographs you want of Vermont scenes.Note: You must be registered in order to post. If you have trouble registering, use the contact us form on Scenes of Vermont's home page.

Moderators: Andy, admin

deaner1971

Development/Growth of a Photographer

Fri Nov 18, 2011 2:22 pm

All,

As a relatively new photographer, I know little enough about where I have been on my journey, a bit more about where I stand today but, precious little about where I shall yet travel. That being said, I have a question about, perhaps, all three.

When I was starting, the camera never left the "Auto" setting on the dial. I assumed that any computer knew better than did I. Sure, I might delve into the "Scenes" settings when I knew that I had a speciality shot that they seemed to cater to (bust out the running man for an action shot [the "running man" icon on the camera, not the iconic running man dance move of the early to mid 90s] or the sunset for a shot of that type) but mostly an Auto man through and through.

Then as I read more about how the camera functioned I started to try and set my own settings. A big help was that many of my photo books included the meta data for the shots used as examples. I started to really understand what I needed to tweak in order to shift one side of the shutter speed/aperture scales to get what I wanted and trust the camera to put things into proper balance.

My first question is based around the fact that I still need a couple of practice shots to get what I want. And that question is, are you able/do you expect to be able to make change to settings and nail the picture (seetings if not composition) at the first try? Just trying to assess whether or not that is a realistic goal. When I shot film, I do remember that I would burn a whole roll on a single shot that I really wanted to come out and of which I was less than certain I was dialed in.