planning this weekend in vermont----coming from portland, me

Discuss Fall Foliage in Vermont, when to come, where to stay, where to take a tour etc. Note: You must be registered in order to post. If you have trouble registering, use the contact us form on Scenes of Vermont's home page.

Moderators: Andy, pwt54, admin, ctyanky

shush

planning this weekend in vermont----coming from portland, me

Thu Oct 15, 2009 11:01 am

Hello experts,

I'm new to the New England area and traveling to Vermont during foliage season has always been a dream of mine. And I finally get to do it this weekend!

I'm living in Portland, Maine right now and I'm looking to leave Saturday morning for Vermont. My main goal is to see scenery and take beautiful pictures. I'd be happy just driving around scenic byways and quaint towns but I don't want to drive more than 5 hours on Saturday as well as 5 hours back to Portland on Sunday. So far this is the route that I have come up with.

Please tell me if there's anything I can do to make it better! As I said, I don't know much about where to go and what to see but I want to make this a very pretty weekend.

Currently my path looks like this:
Portland to Lincoln, NH
Lincoln, NH to Craftsbury, VT
Craftsbury, VT to Stowe, VT (spending a night in Stowe)
Stowe, VT to Montpelier, VT
Montpelier, VT to Barre, VT
Barre, VT to Waits River, VT
Waits River, VT to Queechee, VT
Queechee, VT to Portland ME

The map on mapquest:

http://www.mapquest.com/maps?1c=Portla ... :EN:M:/e

Andy

Thu Oct 15, 2009 11:35 am